Waratah Cup Final Decided

From the Stands

After months of knockout rounds producing the 5 teams that will represent the NSW federation in the 2018 FFA, we have reached the grand final of the Waratah Cup.

Last night Hakoah Sydney City East defeated Bonnyrigg White Eagles 4-2 whilst APIA Leichhardt Tigers defeated Marconi Stallions 2-0.

The 2018 Grand Final will be a repeat of the 2017 Grand Final which saw Hakoah defeat APIA 3-1.

In last years final, Lee Jones opened the scoring early for Hakoah, converting a spot kick in the 7th minute before Sean Symons ensured that the match was level going into the sheds at half time. Jablonski scored the go ahead goal in the 80th minute before Harry Jones sealed it 2 minutes into stoppage time.

So far this season APIA are sitting 2nd on the league table, 4 points behind leaders Sydney Olympic whilst Hakoah is in 8th spot, 3 points outside of finals.

The two teams previous encounter was in late February at Hensley Athletic, APIA winning the contest 3-1.

The goal scorers were Anthony Frangie for Hakoah, and Jordan Murray and Tasuku Sekiya for APIA, the latter scoring a brace.

Hakoah have won the cup a record 7 times since the inaugural New South Wales Federation of Soccer Clubs in 1957.

APIA have won the cup 4 times, the latest victory coming in 2013.

A little bit of fun trivia; Sydney Crescent Stars are the only non-league team to win the competition with their triumph occuring in 2004.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.