Balmain Tigers FC

Balmain Tigers FC was founded in 1968 as a semi-professional football club based in the inner-city suburb of Balmain. The Tigers historically played their games at Birchgrove Oval. As of 2013, they moved their home ground to Wentworth Park, however continue to train at Birchgrove Oval. In 2008 they were promoted to the NSW State league division 1, beating Camden in penalty shoot-out for the promotion. 2012 saw their first grand finals appearance in Division 1 state league, then following it up the next year winning the title. In 2015 they were the first club to qualify for the round of 32 for the FFA Cup.

Roy Lawrence, in 1986 formed a six a side football competition gaining lots of interest. From this competition, Balmain was formed with Lawrence as coach, entering the Canterbury District Premier League, finishing second and reaching the grand final in their first season. In 1989 they were promoted to the NSW Soccer Federation Division 7, then promoted yearly until Division 5. In 1991 they won Division 4, winning all but two games.  In 1999 they won the grand final that saw them promoted into Division three under new coach Jimmy Campbell. Completing an astonishing run of seasons, they were promoted to Division 2 after finishing runners up, and winning the grand final on penalties after coming 2nd in the division.

In 2002, Balmain was invited into Division 1, but had to decline the invitation instead selling it to the Northern Tigers to assist their financial situation. They were subsequently dropped back to Division 4 and renamed as Birchgrove United. It wouldn’t be until 2009 that the club would be promoted back into Division 1, after beating Camden on penalties in the grand final.  In 2013 the team defeated Northbridge FC 2-0 after extra time to secure the State League One title, meaning that from Division 5 to Division 1 the club has taken out either the premiership or championship.

Club Honours

  • New South Wales State League One Champions 2013.
  • New South Wales State League Two Champions 2008.
  • FFA Cup Round of 32 2015