NSL Where Are They Now? – Bankstown Berries

Currently playing in the NPL 2 competition as the Bankstown Berries, the club is one of the first football clubs formed in Sydney, being founded in 1886, and played in the first NSW State League as Canterbury FC.

The Bankstown side only played one year in the NSL competition in 1986 as Canterbury-Marickville Olympic after winning the NSW 1st Division in 1985. Playing in the Northern Conference the team finished 11th and were relegated back to the NSW First Division. They were relegated despite not coming last due to the changes made to the competition in 1987 which saw it go back to a single conference of 14 teams.

The team would then go through a trophy drought all the way until 2007 when they won the NSW Division One competition, and were then chosen by FNSW to be automatically promoted to the NSW Premier League for the 2008 competition. That year the club would finish 10th, narrowly avoiding relegation. However after finishing last in the 2010 NSW Premier League, they were relegated down to the NSW Super League and from 2012 they adopted the name Bankstown Berries FC.

Former notable players of the club include Graham Arnold (80-81), Charlie Yankos (1992), and of course the most famous of them all; the late great Johnny Warren (59-62).

Currently the Berries are sitting in 9th spot on the table, 1 point outside the top 6 in the NPL 2 competition. Recently, they managed to defeat former NPL Champions Northeast MetroStars in the round of 32 of the FFA Cup to advance to the round of 16 where Sydney FC await them in what will be the biggest game in the clubs history.

From 2018, the club will be going back to its roots, playing under the name Canterbury FC, where they will be looking to build on a resurgent 2nd half of the season and push for promotion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.