NPL National Finals Information

Now that the state NPL competitions have concluded, we can now turn our attention to the NPL finals and importantly, who APIA Leichhardt will be facing on their way to the grand final.

Elimination Finals

Match 1: Adelaide City v APIA Leichhardt – Saturday 16 September – 2.30pm AEST – Adelaide City Park

Match 2: Bayswater City v Heidelberg United – Sunday 17 September – 2pm AEST – Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium

Match 3: Canberra Olympic v Edgeworth Eagles – Saturday 16 September – 5pm AEST – Deakin Stadium

Match 4: South Hobart FC v Brisbane Strikers – Sunday 16 Septmber – 12.30pm AEST – Darcy St, South Hobart

Semi Finals – 23/24 September

Match 5: Winner of Match 1 v Winner of Match 2
Match 6: Winner of Match 3 v Winner of Match 4

Grand Final – 30 September/1 October

Winner of Match 5 v Winner of Match 6

This means that if APIA defeat Adelaide City, they will then need to get past the winner of Bayswater City and Heidelberg United to go through to the grand final.

To determine the host Member Federation clubs for the Semi Finals and Grand Final, the following points system will apply.
► Win within normal time (i.e. 90 minutes) = 3 points
► Win during extra time = 2 points
► Win on penalties = 1 point
► Goals scored by home team (excluding penalty shootouts) = 3 points
► Goals scored by away team (excluding penalty shootouts) = 4 points
► Goals conceded (excluding penalty shootouts) = -1 point
► Yellow cards = -1 point; and Red cards = -3 points
The host of the Grand Final will be determined by the club with the highest accumulation of points across the Elimination Finals and Semi Finals.
More information here.
Image credit: National Premier Leagues


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.