Marconi Stallions FC

Marconi Stallions were founded in 1958 by members of the Italian community in the Western Sydney suburbs. The club started as a youth team then progressed to a senior team in 1961, that won the NSW amateur championship. By 1970, Marconi reached NSW 1st Division, and by this point the club had begun being feared by rival teams. The Stallions then went on to win back to back championships in 1972 and 1973. In 1977, Marconi became a founding club of the first National League in Australia; the National Soccer League.

In their first year of the NSL, Marconi finished 2nd only on goal difference to Eastern Suburbs, but would find success in 1979 when they became National Champions, followed by winning the NSL cup in 1980. The club gained the nickname “The Palace”, attracting big name Australian players in the early 1980s. Marconi won the 1988 and 1989 Grand finals, although fell short at the final hurdles at winning a 3-peat. Premierships also came in 1989 and 1990, then again winning the 1993 grand final. The last trophy of their NSL career would by the 1995-96 premiership under Manfred Schaefer.

After the fall of the NSL, Marconi Stallions entered the NSW Premier League, where they became stagnated having a best result of finishing 2nd in the 2009 season. That would be until the 2012 season, where after placing 3rd won the championship, overcoming strong favourites Bonnyrigg in the grand final with 2 second half goals. In 2015 however, the once giant and famous club was relegated down to NPL NSW 2 after their worst season in history. They accrued 7 points all season after a mass player exodus, and ended their year with 10 consecutive defeats.

Rivalries include Sydney Olympic, two of Australia’s largest teams back by large migrant populations, Sydney United, who by proximity are 1 km south of Club Marconi and APIA Leichardt, which results in the Italian Derby.

Club Marconi boasts an incredible alumni including: Alex Brosque, Steve Corica, Ante Covic, Craig Foster, Andy Harper, Harry Kewell, Frank Farina, Archie Thompson and Mark Schwarzer (two time EPL winner).


Club Honours

  • NSL Champions 1979, 19988, 1992-93
  • NSL Premiers 1989, 1989-90, 1995-96
  • NSW NPL 2 Champions 2017
  • NSW NPL 2 Premiers 2017
  • NSL Cup Winners 1980
  • NSW 1st Division Champions 1972, 1973, 2012
  • NYL Champions 1988, 1995-96