APIA Leichardt Tigers


The club was founded as the Associazione Poli-sportiva Italo Australiana in 1954 by members of the Italian-Australian community in Sydney’s Inner West. After several years in the Canterbury District competition, the club joined the NSW Federation’s state league.

In the 1960s APIA became one of the foremost soccer clubs in Australia and won the Premiership of NSW of the years 1964, 1966, 1967 and 1975, which was the highest level of achievement in the absence of a national competition. Between 1966 and 1974 APIA also won three times the State Cup of NSW, then named after a sponsor Ampol Cup. The 1974 final was considered “one of the most incredible finals” of the history of the club when skipper Jimmy Rooney and centreforward Peter Ollerton, who scored five goals, won 9-1 against Auburn in front of a crowd of 5210 at Wentworth Park, the highest finals result ever.

Rooney and Ollerton were also in the team that represented Australia a few months later in its first World Cup participation in Germany.

In 1979 APIA was given access to the National Soccer League (NSL), the top tier of Australian soccer since 1977. In 1987 APIA won the national championship, six points ahead of the Preston Makedonia Soccer Club from Melbourne, with then only two points awarded per win. Coach in that season was Rale Rasic. Charlie Yankos and Peter Katholos are probably the best known players from that side. The main cast of that year consisted of Tony Pezzano, Charlie Yankos, Arno Bertogna, Mark Brown, Jean-Paul de Marigny, Peter Tredinnick, Peter Katholos, Edwards Lorens, Hilton Phillips, Gary Ward, Rod Brown and Tony Parison. In 1988 APIA won the National Soccer League Cup. By 1992 the APIA Leichhardt was overwhelmed by financial difficulties. The club was somewhat restructured and forthwith played on state level with the moniker “Tigers.”

Club Honours

  • NSL Champions 1987
  • NSW State League Premiers 1964, 1966, 1967, 1975, 2003
  • NSW NPL Premiers 2017
  • NSL Cup Winners 1988
  • Australia Cup Winners 1966
  • State Cup Winners 1962, 1966, 1975, 2013, 2018