Bulli FC

Bulli FC was officially founded in 1901, however there are records of organised football competition going back to the 1880s, with North Illawarra Rovers playing at a ground at Bulli. Bulli plays in blue and white out of Balls Paddock.

In the 1950s, Bulli FC amalgamated with Bulli Surf Life Saving Club, changing their kits to green and gold and 1956 would see Bulli take out their maiden premiership in Illawarra 1st division. Their success would roll through into the 60s, being the “golden generation” for the club winning silverware right throughout the decade.

In 1969, the team coached by Ron Mcgarry, an ex Newcastle United coach won 5 trophies including the Premiership and Championship, the NSW Amateur Cup, the Langridge Shield and the Corrimal Leagues Knock-out. This team earned the name “The Invincibles”.

In 1982 the club was relegated into 2nd division, although re-gained promotion into the IPL after winning the comp in 1983. In 1985 they won their first Premier League title and further defended it in 1986, winning the championship as well.

Bulli’s current home ground, Balls paddock was opened in 1988 and coincidentally they club lifted their 3rd IPL title that year. However this would be the last success tasted for a long time.

In 2002 the club was relegated for only their second time, however similar to 1983 they took out 2nd division once again the following season and then the Bampton Cup in 2004.

Bulli’s next successes came in 2014, winning the Premiership and in 2017 winning the Bampton Cup and Premiership in the same season.

However, the club suffered a 32 year grand final win drought despite all their success. The first of course coming in 1986, then waiting til 2018 to defeated Wollongong United 3-2 at WIN Stadium. The club lost 8 grand finals with 7 of those coming between 2006 and 2017, where they suffered a shock defeated on penalties to Port Kembla.

Notable Players

  • Adrian Alston
  • Dean Heffernan

Club Honours

  • IPL Premiers: 1985, 1986, 1988, 2014, 2017, 2018
  • IPL Champions: 1986, 2018
  • Bert Bampton Cup Winners: 2004, 2017