FFA Cup 2017 – Round of 32 Entrants

With North Eastern MetroStars FC of South Australia and Shamrock Rovers Darwin FC of Northern Territory being confirmed as the final participants in the Round of 32 of the 2017 edition of the FFA Cup, the time is now for all fans of their respective clubs to gear up and wonder who their team will be drawn against.

The FFA Cup has a total of 32 teams made up of the 10 A-League clubs, one National Premier Leagues (NPL) champion (Sydney United 58 FC) with the remaining 21 clubs coming from the various FFA member federations. Each member federation has at least one entrant into the cup and can be drawn against an A-League club or against other member federation club, depending on the outcome of the draw.

Below are the clubs who have qualified for the 2017 edition of the FFA Cup:

As of 2016, the draw instructions to determine the cup ties are as follows:

1) The 10 A-League clubs are placed in “Pot A” and the Member Federation clubs are placed in “Pot B”
2) Three ties are drawn from “Pot A” (A-League v A-League)
3) Nine ties are drawn from “Pot B” (Member Federation v Member Federation)
4) The remaining ties are drawn one at a time, with “Pot B”  (Member Federation) being drawn first (home) then “Pot A” (A-League) (Member Federation v A-League)

Please not that Wellington Phoenix (if drawn at “home”) will play their “home” games in Australia, as per their entry requirement into the cup.

The draw for the FFA Cup is on Thursday 29th of June, 2017 at 3:00pm. The Clean Sheet will keep you updated on draw results and progress of the NPL NSW teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.